Close Menu
New Jersey State Bar
SCBA
VBA
DCBAR
ABA
Somerville Divorce Lawyer > Blog > Blogs > When Can I Stop Paying Child Support in New Jersey?

When Can I Stop Paying Child Support in New Jersey?

pexels-skitterphoto-9660

If you are currently paying child support in New Jersey, you may wonder when you are allowed to stop. Please continue reading and reach out to The Law Offices of Katherine K. Wagner to learn more about when child support ends in New Jersey and how Ms. Wagner can assist you through each step of the process ahead. Here are some questions you may have:

How is child support determined in New Jersey?

For the most part, child support is determined by the use of the New Jersey Child Support Guidelines. The guideline amounts are determined, and periodically updated, by using a statistical analysis of the average cost to raise a child or children in the Northeast. Using the gross weekly income of each parent, the number of children and their ages, the appropriate amount of support is determined. The parties are free to deviate up or down from the guidelines support number for any reason including if a child has special needs or if their combined weekly incomes are over the maximum amount which in the current guidelines is $3,600 per week.

When can I stop paying child support in New Jersey?

Once a child reaches the age of 19, in most circumstances, they are no longer entitled to child support. However, if a child or children are pursuing post-secondary education on a full-time basis, the parent receiving the support may continue to receive support until they graduate or they reach the age of 23.

Parents of children with special needs may also request an extension of child support indefinitely depending upon the degree of the special needs. However, when a child turns 23 and they do not have special needs, they are considered emancipated, and child support will end. Further, there are certain cases where a child who is under the age of 23 may emancipate themselves, which would also terminate a child support obligation. A child is considered emancipated in New Jersey if:

  • They are no longer living with either parent
  • They are no longer pursuing their education on a full-time basis
  • They are married
  • They joined, or are joining, the military
  • They are financially independent and have a full-time job

If you require assistance with your child support obligation, please do not hesitate to reach out to The Law Office Katherine K. Wagner.

Contact the Law Offices of Katherine K. Wagner

Do not face complex divorce and family law matters alone. With over 25 years of experience, the Law Offices of Katherine K. Wagner is dedicated to providing you with the knowledge and skill your case deserves. We will fight to protect your rights, your financial security, and your children. Contact the Law Offices of Katherine K. Wagner today for a consultation.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

© 2020 - 2022 Katherine K. Wagner, Attorney at Law. All rights reserved.